The TK-SPACE offers a great place for a fun and educational school trips that can be planned and personalized to meet your needs in terms of length of stay, themes and content and age of students. Many summer and winter camps are also organized throughout the year for both school children and young adults.
Diaolous are fortified multi-story watchtowers found scattered across
the village countryside, which display a complex and flamboyant fusion
of Chinese and Western structural and decorative forms. These towers are
located mainly in Kaiping (開平) that is part of Jiangmen prefecture in
Guangdong province, China. They reflect the significant role of émigré
Kaiping people in the development of several countries in South Asia,
Australasia and North America, during the late 19th and early 20th
Zili Village located in Tangkou township, includes nine diaolous, the
largest number among the four Kaiping villages designated by UNESCO.
They feature the fusion of Chinese and various Western architectural
styles and rise up surrealistically over the rice paddy fields. It was
founded in the 17th year of the Daoguang’s reign in the Qing Dinasty
(1837) and is comprised of Anheli, He’anli and Yong’anli unincorporated
villages all with the surname Fang. In the early days after the founding
of the new People’s Republic of China, all three villages were combined
into Zili Village, implying “self-reliance”.
Li Gardens, located in Beiyi Xiang, was constructed in 1936 by Mr. Xie
Weili, a Chinese emigrant to the United States. The Garden is based on
the Grand View Garden depicted in the Dream of the Red Chamber and
skillfully combines the classical garden features with the popular villa
architecture of Europe and America, which presents a unique form of
architectural art and boasts a breathtaking man made garden landscape.
The Cangdong Heritage Education Center is an ongoing Conservation and
Education Project. It aims to support both tangible and intangible
heritage of Cangdong village and to promote knowledge, understanding and
appreciation of the local village ways of life. Buildings are being
repaired, renovated and revitalized in ways that are authentic and
sensitive to their heritage.
Rongguifang, located in Tangkou Township used to be called Qi Longma.
There are two grand buildings, one is called Zi Lu and the other is
called the White House. Zi Lu was funded by Mr. Fang Ziwen who was an
overseas Chinese. The style of the construction organizes the space so
that the front of the building is at a lower level to the back part. The
white house is known for its white walls and was donated by Mr. Fang
Lunchuang. Standing on the top of the white house, you can see the whole
view of the village.
Chikan is a town in Kaiping. It is officially designated as a National
Historic and Cultural Town of China. Historically it was a regional
maritime hub, a center for emigration, an emigrant market town and the
administrative center of Kaiping. In the late 19th and early 20th
centuries, Chikan became the major regional maritime transportation hub
in Kaiping county, through its numerous ferries routes via the Tan river
to Jiangmen. This came to an end upon the silting of the Tan River in
the 20th century.
Ma Jiang Long and its famous Diaolou cluster is spread across five
villages located in the Baihe township amidst a beautiful bamboo forest.
Yong'an and Nan'an Villages of the Huang family, Hedong, Qinglin, and
Longjiang Villages of the Guan family make up the cluster. In the east
of the village there is the Horse Mountain that resembles a horse and
behind the village there is another mountain named the “Hundred-foot
Mountain” that resembles a centipede.
Jin Jiang Li Village was founded by the Huang clan in the Guangxu Reign
of the Qing Dinasty (1875-1908). Located in Xiangang Township, it
includes three exquisite diaolous: Rui Shi Lou, Sheng Feng Lou, and Jin
Jiang Lou. Rui Shi Diaolou, constructed in 1921, has nine floors and is
the tallest diaolou in Kaiping. It features a Byzantine style roof and a
Roman dome. Historical records show that after the diaolous were
completed, Jin Jiang Li Village was never attacked by bandits.
San Men Li, located in Chikan, is one of the oldest existing villages in
Kaiping and it is named after its three gates. In San Men Li, the most
famous building is the Yinglong tower, a well-preserved diaolou that was
built in the Jiajing era of the Ming dynasty (1522-1566). Due to the
Yinglong building’s long age, it shows the diaolou’s original appearance
and has highly historical value for research. San Men Li even has its
own festival called the Stone Dog Festival held on the 15th day of
September. Villagers celebrate the Stone Dog and invite local bands to
Canada Village was originally known as Yao Hua Fang, when the "new"
village, located south of Sanmenli, was established in 1923 by oversea
Chinese who had returned from Canada. The ten houses and one five-storey
diaolou watch tower were built integrating both foreign and local
architectures. Since many of its villagers now reside in Canada, it has
became colloquially known as Canada Village. In 2007 it was included in
the "Kaiping Diaolou & Villages", which was collectively designated a
UNESCO World Heritage Site.